header image

Employment

CURRENT VACANCIES

Licensed Positions

All applicants must be licensed and highly qualified.

All applicants must submit an online application for employment.

Administration


District-wide

Occupational Therapist – District wide – part-time – 10 to 12 hours of contract therapy services per week – beginning September 9, 2014 and ending June 30, 2015 –  experience with preschool children preferred –  must have current Occupational Therapy license through the North Carolina Board of Occupational Therapy – please send resume and letter of interest to EC Director Joan Ferrara at jferrara@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 8/25/14

AIG Teacher – Elementary Level – Pre-K – 1 – Part-time – less than 20 hrs. per week – Beginning August 18th – must be licensed and highly qualified in NC license area (88087) Academically Gifted – contact Federal Programs Director Jill Barker at jbarker@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 8/14/14

Elementary


Middle School

Interim Social Studies Teacher – Canton Middle School – Full-time – Temporary – beginning Jan. 2015- ending June 2015 must be licensed and highly qualified in NC license area (78400) Middle Grades Social Studies or (025) Elementary Grades K-6 – contact Principal Todd Barbee at tbarbee@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 10/22/14

High School

Business Teacher – Central Haywood High School – Full-time – beginning Oct. 14th – must be licensed and highly qualified in NC license area (600) Business Education – contact Principal Jeff Haney at jhaney@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 10/2/14

Allied Health Teacher – Pisgah High School – Part-time – beginning Sept. 9th – must be licensed and highly qualified in NC license area (721) Health Occupations Education (Allied Health) – contact Principal Greg Bailey at gbailey@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 9/2/14

Social Studies Teacher – Alternative Learning Center – Part-time – beginning August 13, 2014 – ending June 15, 2015 – must be licensed and highly qualified in NC license area (400) Secondary Social Studies – contact Program Director Kyle Ledford at kledford@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 7/14/14

Interim Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher – Tuscola High School – Full-time – temporary – must be licensed and highly qualified in NC license area (716) Foods and Nutrition/Culinary Arts – contact Principal Travis Collins at tcollins@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 9/24/14

Interim Math Teacher – Pisgah High School – Full-time – Temporary (8 to 12 weeks) – early Spring Semester – must be licensed and highly qualified in NC License area (200) Secondary Mathematics grades 9-12 – contact Principal Greg Bailey at gbailey@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 10/20/14


Non-Certified

Assistant Basketball Coach – Tuscola High School – part-time – non-employee position – beginning Fall 2014 – applicants must have a high school diploma or equivalent – preferred applicants will have proven success with high school basketball programs – contact Athletic Director Rodney Mashburn at rmashburn@haywood.k12.nc.us and Principal Travis Collins at tcollins@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 10/10/14

Title 1 Tutor – Meadowbrook  Elementary – part-time – less than 19.5 hours per week – beginning Sept. 2014 – must have experience with elementary reading programs – contact Principal Stephanie Goodwin at sgoodwin@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 8/21/14

Bus Driver - Junaluska Elementary – part-time – PM Route only – beginning August 18th – applicants must have a high school diploma or equivalent and a valid CDL license with a School Bus Endorsement – contact Principal Sherri Arrington at sarrington@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 8/7/14

After School Program Director – Meadowbrook Elementary – part-time – beginning July 14th – applicants must have a high school diploma or equivalent – experience with after school programs preferred – contact Principal Stephanie Goodwin at sgoodwin@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 7/4/14

Bus Driver – Bethel Middle  School – Part-time  -  beginning August 18th – applicants must have a high school diploma or equivalent and a valid CDL license with School Bus Endorsement – contact Assistant Principal Natalie Boone at nboone@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 6/13/14

Bus Driver - Canton Middle School – Part-time Morning and Afternoon Route –  Beginning as soon as possible – applicants must have a high school diploma or equivalent and a valid CDL license with School Bus Endorsement – contact Assistant Principal Jean Ann Yates at jyates@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 5/14/14

Bus Driver – Central Elementary School – Part-time – Beginning as soon as possible – applicants must have a high school diploma or equivalent and a valid CDL license with School Bus Endorsement – contact Principal Wendy Rogers at wdrogers@haywood.k12.nc.us posted 4/18/14

Substitute Bus Drivers – beginning immediately – for more information, contact Transportation Director, Rick Stiles, at rstiles@haywood.k12.nc.us

After-school Program Workers – Elementary Schools – contact Principal at each school

Bus Drivers – all schools – contact rstiles@haywood.k12.nc.us

Application Information and Link
Teacher Salary Schedule
Certified Teacher Application
Classified (Support) Application
Substitute Application
Bus Driver Application

*NCLB regulations require Teacher Assistant applicants to provide proof of an Associate Degree or 48 semester hours of successful college credit.

Employment Process -
1) complete an application
2) check website regularly for vacancies
3) contact the school or department to request an interview

Please Note- Administrators will screen applications received and select a minimum of three applicants for interviews. Pre-interview testing may be required. All employment offers are subject to pre-employment drug testing and background screening. Haywood County Schools is a drug free workplace.

Submit application information to:
Haywood County Schools
Human Resources Department
1230 N. Main Street
Waynesville, NC 28786
Please call 828-456-2400 or contact the Human Resources Department for more information.

NON-DISCRIMINATION STATEMENT
The Haywood County Board of Education believes that all employees and students should be free of unlawful discrimination. The Haywood County Board of Education and Haywood County Schools commit to nondiscrimination in all its educational and employment activities. The board expressly prohibits unlawful discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, pregnancy, religion, age, marital status, parenthood, citizenship status, disability, or genetic information.
The Haywood County Board of Education and the Haywood County School System are committed to a policy of non-discrimination and shall make every effort to recruit and employ the best-qualified personnel without regard to race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, or disability, except where sex, age, or physical requirements are essential occupational qualifications.
If an individual feels that he/she has been discriminated against because of race, sex, age, religion, national origin, handicapping condition, limited English proficiency, or citizenship, please contact
Jason Heinz, Human Resources Director, 1230 North Main Street, Waynesville, NC 28786