About US

The TUSCOLA HIGH SCHOOL Counseling Center’s goals are to meet the academic and emotional needs of  all students and to provide necessary support to the families and staff who also  serve these young people.

We recognize and appreciate the diverse talents and interests of all THS students, and it is our honor to help them explore a variety options for life after high school and to help them develop a plan to meet their post secondary goals.

We provide guidance as students make class selections each year.  We educate students on NC high school graduation requirements.  We provide information on college and scholarship applications processes.  We help coordinate services for students that need additional academic or emotional support in order to be successful.

Meet the COUNSELING CENTER TEAM:

Kari Russell

Counselor for students with the last names A-G

krussell@haywood.k12.nc.us


Teresa Heinz

Counselor for students with the last names H-O

theinz@haywood.k12.nc.us


Julia Plott

Counselor for students with the last names P-Z

jplott@haywood.k12.nc.us

______________________________________________________________________________

Angela Dove

Counseling Center Office Manager

Ms. Dove coordinates new student enrollment and handles all transcript requests.

adove@haywood.k12.nc.us


Dennis Kocsis

NC Wise Data Manager

dkocsis@haywood.k12.nc.us

_______________________________________________________________________________

 

Meet your STUDENT SUPPORT SERVICES STAFF:

Andrew Johnson

Haywood Community College Career and College Coach

aajohnson@haywood.edu

_______________________________________________________________________________

Joan Kennedy

School Social Worker

jkennedy@haywood.k12.nc.us

________________________________________________________________________________

Tammy Quinn

School Nurse

tlquinn@haywoodnc.net

________________________________________________________________________________

Alex Deutsch

School Psychologist

adeutsch@haywood.k12.nc.us

________________________________________________________________________________

Lynn Ray

Career Development Coordinator

lray@haywood.k12.nc.us

________________________________________________________________________________    Eddie New

School Resource Officer

________________________________________________________________________________

We are here to help you get the most of your four years at Tuscola High School.  Please feel welcome to visit us in our office at any time!  Ms. Dove’s desk is at the front:  She will greet you when you arrive.  If your counselor is not available, she will make an appointment for you to meet them at a later time OR allow you to leave your counselor a note OR (if necessary) schedule you with someone else.

In the meantime, we hope this web page will provide you with helpful information.  Please take a look around!